Last updated: 15 October 2026 · By Analyst, Platizio Global
There is no single best app to invest in US stocks from India: it depends on order size, how often you invest, whether you want systematic investment plans (SIPs) and whether you are a non-resident Indian (NRI). Low-minimum percentage fees cost least on small orders; flat or per-share fees cost least on large ones.
Disclosure: Platizio Global publishes this comparison, is one of the platforms listed and may be paid by its partner ViewTrade. Fees come from each platform’s own pages, read on 15 October 2026.
Key takeaways
- Published brokerage on GIFT City apps runs from 0.05% (Appreciate, minimum ₹5) to 0.29% (Platizio Global, minimum US$1, no published cap).
- In our cost table, a $100 buy costs $0.06 to $2.99, and a $10,000 buy $1.00 (Interactive Brokers) to $34.72 (Platizio Global).
- No platform publishes its currency-conversion markup, which usually costs more than brokerage.
- For residents, every platform shares the same Liberalised Remittance Scheme (LRS) limit of US$250,000 per financial year, 20% tax collected at source (TCS) above ₹10 lakh and income-tax rules.
- Groww has been rolling out since 29 September 2026, Zerodha is approved but not launched, and Angel One’s US stocks run through Vested.
GIFT City apps vs US brokers: the two routes
A GIFT City US stocks app puts your account with a firm in GIFT City’s International Financial Services Centre (IFSC) that is regulated by the International Financial Services Centres Authority (IFSCA); some apps only refer you to such a firm. Your money goes under LRS to a GIFT City bank account, then to a US broker.
A US broker under LRS, regulated by the US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), holds your account directly or through an Indian partner that refers you.
Indian international mutual funds avoid LRS, but most are closed to new money: see US stocks vs international mutual funds.
US stocks apps compared (15 October 2026)
How we compared: 13 platforms on brokerage, all-in cost, minimums, SIPs and NRI access, grouped by route and listed alphabetically, with no overall ranking. “Not stated” means the platform’s pages do not say; “not verified” means we could not confirm it. Samco, Bigul, smallcase and India INX Global Access are excluded as unverified.
| Platform | Route; US broker | Brokerage per order | Minimum; fractional | SIP | NRIs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Appreciate | GIFT City; DriveWealth | 0.05% (min ₹5) + ₹1 platform fee | ₹1; fractional | Yes | Not stated |
| Dhan | GIFT City; ViewTrade | 0.25% (min $0.01); no cap | $1; fractional | Yes | Not stated |
| Groww | GIFT City (rolling out); Alpaca | 0.10% (min $1); no cap | $1; fractional | Not stated | Not stated |
| INDmoney | GIFT City; DriveWealth, Alpaca, Apex | 0.25%; cap $25 | $1; fractional | Yes | “Coming soon” |
| NSE IX Global Access | GIFT City; not named | 0.25% (min $1); no cap | $1; fractional | Not stated | Yes |
| Platizio Global | GIFT City via ViewTrade IFSC; not named | 0.29% (min $1); no cap | Fractional; $100 minimum funding | Not stated | “Where supported” |
| Tickertape | GIFT City; ViewTrade | 0.20% Basic, 0.15% Pro; cap $25 | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
| Upstox | GIFT City; Alpaca | 0.25% (min $0.01); cap $25 | $1; fractional; $100 minimum deposit | Not stated | Yes |
| HDFC Sky | Via Vested; VF Securities | $2.99/trade (Basic); less on paid plans | Fractional | Yes | Yes |
| ICICI Direct | US broker; Interactive Brokers LLC | $2.75/trade (Classic); less on paid plans | Fractional; no minimum balance | Not stated | Yes |
| Interactive Brokers | US broker, direct | $0.005/share (min $1, max 1%) | Fractional | Not verified | Not verified |
| Kotak Neo | US broker; Interactive Brokers | $1.99/trade | Fractional | Not stated | Not stated |
| Vested | US broker; VF Securities | 0.25% Basic, 0.15% Premium; cap $35 | Fractional; minimum unclear | Yes | Yes |
“No cap” means none is published. Groww, INDmoney, NSE IX Global Access, Platizio Global, Tickertape and Upstox say goods and services tax (GST) applies to brokerage.
What you pay on $100, $1,000 and $10,000 orders
| Platform (plan) | $100 | $1,000 | $10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Appreciate (no GST stated) | 0.06 | 0.51 | 5.01 |
| Dhan (no GST stated) | 0.25 | 2.50 | 25.00 |
| Groww | 1.18 | 1.18 | 11.80 |
| INDmoney | 0.31 | 3.00 | 30.00 |
| NSE IX Global Access | 1.19 | 3.00 | 30.00 |
| Platizio Global | 1.19 | 3.47 | 34.72 |
| Tickertape (Basic) | 0.24 | 2.41 | 24.10 |
| Upstox | 0.30 | 3.00 | 30.00 |
| HDFC Sky (Basic) | 2.99 | 2.99 | 2.99 |
| ICICI Direct (Global Classic) | 2.75 | 2.75 | 2.75 |
| Interactive Brokers (Pro Fixed) | 1.00 | 1.00 | 1.00 |
| Kotak Neo | 1.99 | 1.99 | 1.99 |
| Vested (Basic) | 0.25 | 2.50 | 25.00 |
Assumptions: one buy order; published brokerage, plus 18% GST where it applies and the IFSCA turnover fee (0.005%) where published; rupee fees at ₹95.0691 per dollar, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) reference rate for 15 October 2026; $200 a share for per-share plans; no promotions. Excludes currency conversion, bank and deposit fees, subscriptions and TCS. With 18% GST, Dhan would cost $0.30, $2.95 and $29.50.
A $1 minimum raises costs on orders below $1,000 at Groww, $400 at NSE IX Global Access and about $345 at Platizio Global. Caps limit large-order costs at INDmoney, Tickertape and Upstox ($25 plus GST) and Vested ($35).
Where Platizio Global costs more: its 0.29% rate has no published cap, making it the most expensive GIFT City app here from about $345 an order ($34.72 at $10,000). Below that, it matches NSE IX Global Access.
Currency conversion usually costs more than brokerage
No platform here publishes its foreign-exchange (FX) markup, the margin added to the exchange rate; all leave conversion to a bank or partner. A 0.5% markup each way adds about 1% to a round trip, against about 0.6% for 0.25% brokerage plus GST on the buy and the sell. Compare the rate on your remittance advice with that day’s RBI reference rate.
Best app to invest in US stocks from India for each type of investor
The best platform for US stocks in India depends on how you invest. On published fees and features:
- Small SIP investor (about $100 a month): Appreciate, Dhan, INDmoney, Tickertape, Upstox and Vested keep a $100 order near $0.30 or less; Appreciate, Dhan, INDmoney and Vested state SIPs. Upstox and Platizio Global set a $100 minimum deposit; NSE IX Global Access and Tickertape Basic charge $1 per deposit, Dhan $1 below $100.
- Large one-off investor ($10,000 or more): flat or per-share US-broker plans cost $1 to $2.99 per $10,000 order. Groww ($11.80 at $10,000), Dhan, NSE IX Global Access and Platizio Global publish no cap.
- Active trader: resident accounts are cash-only. Paid plans at HDFC Sky and ICICI Direct cut per-trade fees for frequent traders; HDFC Sky, INDmoney, NSE IX Global Access and Vested state extended hours.
- NRI: HDFC Sky, ICICI Direct, Upstox and Vested state NRI support, and NSE IX Global Access charges non-residents $10 a withdrawal; Platizio Global says “where supported” and INDmoney “coming soon”. Money from non-resident external (NRE) or overseas accounts is outside LRS and TCS.
Platform profiles
GIFT City apps
Appreciate. Appreciate Broking IFSC is an IFSCA-registered broker-dealer; its site does not explain the “₹1/unit or ticker” platform fee.
Dhan. Live since 12 June 2026 through its subsidiary Raise IFSC; its US page shows no licence number.
Groww. Groww IFSC, a Global Access Provider, is still rolling out the service and adds no currency charge of its own.
INDmoney. A Global Access Provider that says it has served US stocks through GIFT City since August 2025. It also offers UCITS ETFs and free tax-return filing with an auto-filled Schedule FA.
NSE IX Global Access. NSE International Exchange’s own app, soft-launched on 12 February 2026, lists 12,000+ US stocks and ETFs.
Platizio Global. Platizio Services LLP is not a broker; ViewTrade International IFSC opens and holds the account. It offers only US-listed stocks and ETFs, and limit and stop orders only on whole shares. Extended hours are not stated, and its site shows no IFSCA registration number.
Tickertape. Deposits cost $1 each except on the Pro plan, whose price its pricing page omits.
Upstox. Live since 7 September 2026 through the IFSC branch of Upstox Securities; brokerage is free for 30 days after you enable global investing.
US brokers under LRS
HDFC Sky. HDFC Securities only refers clients to Vested’s broker, VF Securities; paid plans start at ₹3,999 a year, and it states a tax module.
ICICI Direct. ICICI Securities refers clients to Interactive Brokers LLC; ICICI Direct Global also covers the UK, Germany, Japan, Singapore and Hong Kong.
Interactive Brokers. Opened directly; its Tiered plan has a $0.35 minimum per order plus exchange and regulatory fees, and two withdrawals a month are free.
Kotak Neo. Kotak puts bank remittance charges at $10–$30 and bank conversion at 0.5%–3%.
Vested. VF Securities, a FINRA and SIPC member, offers its US stocks; its pages do not say residents use Vested’s GIFT City licence.
How to check a platform before you sign up
- Find the firm that holds your account; some apps only refer you (Platizio Global to ViewTrade International IFSC, HDFC Sky to VF Securities).
- For a GIFT City app, find that firm in IFSCA’s directory under Broker Dealers and match the registration number in the app.
- Check the US broker on FINRA BrokerCheck and confirm Securities Investor Protection Corporation (SIPC) membership. SIPC covers up to $500,000 per customer, including $250,000 cash, if a member broker fails, but not market losses or a failed Indian app or IFSC firm. Where an IFSC firm holds one pooled (omnibus) account, each investor’s cover depends on the broker’s records and is untested for GIFT City accounts.
- IFSC exchanges’ investor-protection, dispute and grievance mechanisms do not cover Global Access accounts.
Sources
- Reserve Bank of India — Master Direction, Liberalised Remittance Scheme (updated 6 September 2024) — https://www.rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=10192
- Income Tax Department — Section 394, Income-tax Act, 2025 — https://www.incometaxindia.gov.in/w/section-394-6
- IFSCA — Caution to the public on unregistered broker-dealers (20 September 2024) — https://ifsca.gov.in/Document/Legal/caution-to-public-final20092024061610.pdf
- IFSCA — Regulatory Framework for Global Access in the IFSC, 12 August 2025 (circular text reproduced by TaxGuru) — https://taxguru.in/finance/revamped-regulatory-framework-global-access-ifsc.html
- US SEC (Investor.gov) — Investor Bulletin: SIPC Protection, Part 1 — https://www.investor.gov/introduction-investing/general-resources/news-alerts/alerts-bulletins/investor-bulletins/investor-bulletin-sipc-protection-part-1-sipc-basics
- Platizio Global — Pricing — https://platizioglobal.com/pricing
- Platizio Global — FAQs — https://platizioglobal.com/faqs
- INDmoney — Investing in US stocks via GIFT City — https://www.indmoney.com/us-stocks/investing-in-us-stocks-via-gift-city
- Vested Finance — India homepage — https://vestedfinance.com/in/
- Angel One — US stocks — https://www.angelone.in/us-stocks
- Free Press Journal — Groww rolls out US stock investing (29 September 2026) — https://www.freepressjournal.in/business/groww-rolls-out-us-stock-investing-amid-ai-wave
- Business Today — Groww, Zerodha, Angel One, Upstox secure GIFT City approval (17 June 2026) — https://www.businesstoday.in/amp/markets/stocks/story/groww-zerodha-angel-one-upstox-secure-gift-city-approval-for-us-and-global-stock-investment-537332-2026-06-17
This comparison is for education only. It is not investment, tax or legal advice and does not recommend any platform or security. Platizio Global is operated by Platizio Services LLP, an AMFI-registered mutual fund distributor. Platizio is not a broker, broker-dealer, custodian or investment adviser; accounts are opened and held with ViewTrade International IFSC Private Limited, an IFSCA-regulated intermediary in GIFT City, and Platizio may receive remuneration from ViewTrade as its referral partner. US stocks and ETFs carry market, currency, tax and regulatory risks, and returns are not guaranteed. Fees, rules and tax rates are as of 15 October 2026 and can change; check each platform’s current terms and consult a qualified tax adviser before investing.